KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

MINUTES of a Meeting of the Kent County Council held at County Hall, Maidstone on Thursday, 14 December 2006.

PRESENT: Mr F Wood-Brignall (Chairman)

Mr L B Ridings (Vice-Chairman)

Mrs A D Allen, Mr M J Angell, Mr A R Bassam, Mr T J Birkett, Mr R H C Bliss, Mr A H T Bowles, Mr D L Brazier, Mr J R Bullock, MBE; Mr R B Burgess, Mr C J Capon, Miss S J Carey, Mr P B Carter, Mr N J D Chard, Mr A Chell, Mr B R Cope, Ms C J Cribbon, Mr A D Crowther, Mrs V J Dagger, Mr D S Daley, Mr J A Davies, Mrs T Dean, Dr M R Eddy, Mrs M E Featherstone, Mr K A Ferrin, MBE; Mr C G Findlay, Mr M J Fittock, Mr J B O Fullarton, Mr T Gates, Mr G K Gibbens, Mr R W Gough, Mrs E Green, Ms A Harrison, Mr M J Harrison, Mr C Hart, Mr C Hibberd, Mr P M Hill, OBE; Mr D A Hirst, Mrs S V Hohler, Mr G A Horne, MBE; Mr E E C Hotson, Mr I T N Jones, DL; Mr A J King, Mr R E King, Mr S J G Koowaree, Mr P W A Lake, Mr C J Law, Mr J F London, Mr R L H Long, TD; Mr K G Lynes, Mr T A Maddison, Mr R F Manning, Mr R A Marsh, Mr J I Muckle, Mrs M Newell, Mr W V Newman, DL; Mr M Northey, Mr R J E Parker, Mr R J Parry, Mr R A Pascoe, Mr A R Poole, Dr T R Robinson, Mrs E D Rowbotham, Mr G Rowe, Mr J E Scholes, Mr J D Simmonds, Mr D Smyth, Mr M V Snelling, Mr R Tolputt, Mrs E M Tweed, Mr M J Vye, Mr C T Wells, and Mr B P Wood.

IN ATTENDANCE:- The Chief Executive, Mr P Gilroy, OBE and the Director of Law and Governance, Mr G Wild.

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

1. Minutes

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 2 November 2006 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

2. Chairman's Announcements

Mr John Proctor

- (1) The Chairman announced the death on 5 December 2006 of Mr John Proctor, County Councillor for Maidstone Central Electoral Division from 1985 to 1989.
- (2) The Council stood in silence as a mark of respect.
- (3) RESOLVED that this Council desires to record the sense of loss it feels on the death of Mr Proctor and extends to his relatives its deepest sympathy on their sad bereavement.

Petition

The Chairman formally handed a petition received from Mr J Davies regarding a pedestrian crossing at Rusthall to Mr K Ferrin MBE as the Cabinet Member for Environment, Highways and Waste.

Petition

The Chairman formally handed a petition received from Mr R J E Parker regarding the proposed erection of railings at Lawn Primary School, Northfleet to Mr J Simmonds as the Cabinet Member for Education and School Improvement.

3. Questions

Under Procedure Rule 1.18, 12 questions were asked and replies were given. 3 questions remained unanswered at the end of 30 minutes and written answers were given.

4. Report by Leader of the Council

Mr P B Carter reflected on the Council's achievements during the year and paid tribute to the staff. He updated the Council on budget issues and the Local Government Review.

5. Select Committee Report on Climate Change

RESOLVED that:-

- (a) the Select Committee be thanked for producing a relevant and balanced report;
- (b) the response by the Cabinet working group in addressing the issues raised by the Select Committee in its report be noted and approved; and
- (c) the statement of water policy for KCC which immediately takes forward recommendation 3.4 of the Select Committee report be noted and approved.

6. Select Committee Report on Tackling Obesity

RESOLVED that:-

- (a) the Joint Select Committee be thanked for its work in producing a relevant and balanced document; and
- (b) the recommendations contained in the report be noted and endorsed.

7. Kent Joint Municipal Waste Management Strategy

(1) Mr K Ferrin MBE moved Mr R Manning seconded the recommendation contained in the report.

14 December 2006

(2) The Chairman put to the vote the motion set out in (1) above when the voting was as follows:-

For - 54

Mrs A D Allen, Mr M J Angell, Mr R Bliss, Mr A H T Bowles, Mr D L Brazier, Mr J R Bullock, Mr R B Burgess, Mr C J Capon, Miss S J Carey, Mr P B Carter, Mr N J D Chard, Mr A R Chell, Mr B R Cope, Mr A D Crowther, Mr D S Daley, Mrs V J Dagger, Mr J A Davies, Mr K A Ferrin MBE, Mr C G Findlay, Mr J B O Fullarton, Mr T Gates, Mr G K Gibbens, Mr R W Gough, Mr M J Harrison, Mr C Hibberd, Mr P M Hill, Mr D A Hirst, Mrs S V Hohler, Mr G A Horne, Mr E E C Hotson, Mr A J King, Mr R E King, Mr S J G Koowaree, Mr P W A Lake, Mr C J Law, Mr J F London, Mr R L H Long, Mr K G Lynes, Mr R F Manning, Mr R A Marsh, Mr M Northey, Mr R A Pascoe, Mr L B Ridings, Mr G Rowe, Dr T R Robinson, Mr J E Scholes, Mr J D Simmonds, Mr M V Snelling, Mr R Tolputt, Mrs E Tweed, Mr M J Vye, Mr C J Wells, Mr B P Wood, and Mr F Wood-Brignall.

Abstain – 14

Mr T Birkett, Ms C J Cribbon, Mrs T Dean, Dr M R Eddy, Mr M Fittock, Mrs E Green, Ms A Harrison, Mr C Hart, Mr T Maddison, Mrs M Newell, Mr W V Newman, Mr R J E Parker, Mr A R Poole and Mr D Smyth.

Against - 1

Mrs E Rowbotham.

Carried

(3) RESOLVED that the Final Draft of the Kent Joint Municipal Waste Management Strategy be approved.

Chairman

2006/c&g/countycouncil/121406/minutes